Month: June 2017

Publication: Women in Sport Leadership

Co-author group with Laura Burton
From left to right, the Co-authors include: Dr. Nef Walker, UMASS Dr. Sarah Leberman, Massey University Dr. Meg Hancock, University of Louisville Dr. Laura Burton, University of Connecticut Dr. Heidi Grappendorf, University of Cincinnati Dr. Janelle Wells, University of South Florida Dr. Nicole Melton, UMASS

Dr. Laura Burton recently co-authored a new book on Women in Sport Leadership.

The book describes that “although women and girls participate in sport in greater numbers than ever before, research shows there has been no significant increase in women leading sport organizations. This book takes an international, evidence-based perspective in examining women in sport leadership and offers future directions for improving gender equity. With contributions from leading international sport scholars and practitioners, it explores the opportunities and challenges women face while exercising leadership in sport organizations and evaluates leadership development practices.”

Dr. Burton is incredibly proud of the work that was contributed by both established and emerging scholars.  Her hope is that everyone who reads the book will come away with an appreciation for the work that has been done while also being inspired to continue scholarly inquiry and further support the advancement of women in sport leadership.

Laura Burton Headshot

“I am so grateful for the opportunity to co-edit this book with my friend and colleague Sarah Leberman. It is not often that you are able to spend time together reflecting on research that has helped us to understand the opportunities and the challenges for women in sport leadership while also considering what is needed to move research in this area forward.” – Dr. Laura Burton

Spring 2017 Teaching Excellence Honorees

Congratulations to the following Spring 2017 EDLR Faculty who received the Teaching Excellence Honor by the University Provost's Office:

Teaching excellence honoree, Erica Fernandez

Sandy Bell

Laura Burton

Miguel Cardona

Cathy Cocks

Joseph Cooper

Justin Evanovich

Erica Fernández

Robin Grenier

Kimberly LeChasseur

Jennifer Michno

Blanca Rincón

John Settlage

Jennie Weiner

Sarah Woulfin

Based on recent teaching evaluations, these individuals are among a select group of faculty who excel in teaching, which involves successfully engaging students and facilitates an environment of learning around a spirit of inquiry and intellectual curiosity. These educators are innovative and are consistently seeking new ways to improve as teachers.
Congratulations on this success as you continue to serve as a model for the students and peers within the department, keep up the outstanding work!